Sausages and Carrot Soup

by Anonymous

When I was a child my (generally musical) Mum went through a two decade long early music phase. She, and her friend, had monthly recorder lessons in Nottingham, and I would often be taken along (for childcare more than education.) One month my mum ended up having to cook lunch, in her teacher’s house, for her teacher’s family, and for us (I remember thinking that was a bit weird. I still do.) It was a very big and posh feeling house, and so when mum opened a fridge with nothing in it but sausages and a bag of carrots, I was a bit concerned. We had carrot soup and sausages. I had butter on my sausages. They were great, but I thought I would rather be poor, and have ketchup.

Leave a Reply

